Accept an Invite to your Organization

You've been invited to your company's Whereby account; Now what? This article will walk you through how to accept your invite and get going with a personal room

  1. Accepting your invite
  2. Personal vs. Team Rooms
  3. Get Personal Room notifications

Accepting your invite

If your company has recently starting using a Whereby Business plan and you got an invite to the subdomain, you can create your user with the instructions below:

1
Click the Accept invitation link to go to the account creation page, where you can choose your Display Name that will show in a room while you're logged in
2
After creating your name, you'll be asked to create your own personal meeting room. This will be separate from any Team rooms and will be yours to control
3
After Creating your room, you'll be taken to your Whereby for Business Dashboard. This will list any Team Rooms that are owned on the account, and is also a place where you can access your personal room

Team Rooms Vs. Personal Rooms

Personal Rooms

Your personal room is much like a personal virtual office, perfect for private conversations or quick syncs with team members. Your personal room can be locked so guests or other users in your organization can't join without permission. This way there won't be a chance for interruption during a focused work session.

Team Rooms

Team rooms are accessible to the entire team organization. We consider these much like virtual conference rooms perfect for weekly team syncs or external client meetings for projects that involve several team members. Every user in your organization will be able to lock the team room to outside guests, enter the room when locked, and let in outside guests. All members of the organization also have the ability to record a meeting as long as they're using Chrome.

Working on building a little company culture across time zones and distance? Make a team room called "happy hour" or "lunch break" and set up a weekly social time for people in your organization.

Personal Room Notifications

Notifications work through your browser's notification system so you never miss a meeting again!

The first time you enter a Whereby room you've Created, you'll have to go into room settings to enable notifications. Below is a GIF and written instructions that show how to turn them on. 

  1. Go to your room 
  2. Click on the Settings icon in the upper-right corner of the room 
  3. Select Device and scroll down to click on Advance device settings 
  4. Toggle the Notification switch to be on 
  5. Click Allow in the Chrome pop up to enable Notifications 

Once you allow notifications you will be notified whenever a user knocks or enters your room. You will need to have your browser open to receive the notifications but do not need to be in your room or on the Whereby website. 

Note

We do not send notifications if you have your Whereby room on an active browser tab. We do this because we don't want to interrupt a meeting in progress, so we assume the room is in use if the tab is active

Confirm Notification Settings

If you do not receive a prompt to allow notifications when you enter a room that you own. It may be that you have already dismissed or blocked notifications on your browser. To check this, follow the steps below:

Chrome

  1. Navigate to your browser's settings page (you can type in chrome://settings/ in your URL bar)
  2. Choose Advanced settings
  3. Under Privacy and Security click Site Settings
  4. Choose Notifications
  5. If Whereby is under the Block section switch it to Allow

Firefox

  1. Click the hamburger menu button 
  2. Choose Preferences
  3. Select Privacy & Security and go down to the Permissions section
  4. Click the Settings button next to Notifications
  5. If Whereby is under the Block section switch it to Allow
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us