Room Management

In this article

Create a Room

When you create a room you're assuming ownership of the virtual space, and you'll have the ability to:

  • Lock the room
  • Kick any unwanted visitors
  • Customize the background, logo, and knock page (Pro features)
  • Use the room name for all future meetings

Room Owner Requirement

You must be a registered Whereby user to create a room. S if you don't already have a Whereby account, the first thing that you'll need to is sign up on our Sign up page!

After you create your account or login, the Dashboard is where you can Create new rooms. This page is also where you'll see any rooms that you own on your account.

To Create a new room, click the Create a room button. This opens a box where you can type in your desired room name, and Create it under your account!

Note

Free users can only create one room on their account. If you want to create more than one room, you'll need to subscribe to our Pro service.

Delete a Room

If you are no longer in need of a certain room and room name, you can delete the room from your rooms list. Make sure you are signed into your owner profile and navigate to your rooms list at https://whereby.com. From here you can click on the three dots next to the room name then select "Delete" to delete it.

You'll be asked to confirm that you want to delete the room before it's completely removed. When this action is complete all room customization will be removed as well. 

Change a Room Name

To change your room name you will first need to delete the unwanted room. After you delete the unwanted room you can Create the room name that you want by following the steps above. 

Transfer Room to Another User

Transferring a room from one account to another is a two-step process, which involves Deleting the room from one account, and then Creating it with the desired account. It's usually easiest to do this sitting next to each other, or while you're in an unrelated Whereby room. 

For the account that's Deleting the room:

1
Log in to the account and go to https://whereby.com/
2
Click the three dots next to the room that you want to Delete In the "Your rooms" list then select the "Delete"
3
Confirm that you want to Delete the room to complete the process

For the account that's re-creating the room: 

1
Log in to the account, and wait for the first account to Delete the room
2
Go to https://whereby.com/ and use the Create a room button to re-create the room on the new account

This will make the new account the owner of the room. At this point, they'll have full access to the room Settings, and the ability to upgrade it to a Pro Plan if they so wish!

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us